So, how is harmony used in floral design?

When the topic is floral design, we can’t separate it from harmony. Harmony, as you might know, is the term that shows a pleasing look, in this case, of flower parts arrangement. To create professionally and aesthetically pleasing arrangements, the florist must incorporate several factors and the basic principles of floral design. 

How harmony is used in floral design can make a difference that may distinguish a professional arrangement from a random collection of flowers. 

In order to create a design that’s pleasing to look at, harmony is needed. Florists know how harmony is used in floral design. Because it’s one of the central core elements of floral arrangements. 

When you learn harmony correctly. A florist can create an arrangement that’s both beautiful and solid. There are eight levels of harmony in floral design.

The 8 Levels of Harmony in Floral Design

So, how is harmony used in floral design? Florists need to think about the eight levels of harmony, such as:

The First Level

The first level focuses on the four aspects: berry, branch, flower, and leaf. Florists need to keep their focus on these essential parts of arrangements. They must find a way to marry them together into one beautiful creation, which may take time and effort. 

The Second Level

The second level of harmony adds another aspect to the group: the vase. As you usually know, this is where you put the flower arrangements. Of course, the mix-and-match balances the visual and stability. And that’s how harmony is used in floral design.

The Third Level

The third level adds another aspect, the surface. It’s basically where the vase sits, mainly on the tables. Now in this third level, we start to approach the room’s interior design. The florists need to know where’s the perfect position for the flowers.

The Fourth Level

After setting the surface, it’s time to think about the room itself. This is also a part where you must think carefully about balancing the flowers and the room. Some flowers might look vulgar in one room, while they can also be spectacular in others.

The Fifth Level

So far, we have the seven elements: room, surface, vase, leaf, flower, branch, and berry. On the fifth level of harmony, we add another aspect to the group, the lighting. We can’t argue that lighting can really affect the room’s overall vibe. Some companies make customized light bulbs that can fit any occasion. Lighting may also play an essential part in highlighting the flower colors. For example, the red color can enhance the flowers that have maroon colors. 

The Sixth Level 

The new aspect to add to the sixth level of harmony is the smell. The smell is one of the most critical aspects of floral design. It’s satisfying when you have done it right. However, it can be equally punishing if you did something wrong. 

That’s why it’s a complicated element, very complicated. The smell can be very personal to the occasion. When you can finally have the ability to adjust the smell, you’re one step ahead of everyone in floral designing.

The Seventh Level 

Now it’s time to add some music. Combine music, lighting, and smell, and the mood will appear. Mood can be highly related to the seasonality concept.     

The Eighth Level 

Now we reach the final level, the eighth level of harmony in floral design. The eighth level is about matching the arrangement to the receiving person’s personality. The florists need to design a floral arrangement that suits the personality best.


I hope after reading this you have learned how to use harmony in your floral designs. If you are ready to take the next step make sure to read how unity is used in floral designs.

You might also enjoy:

Leave A Comment